In Florida, every driver must hold PIP (Personal Injury Protection) insurance if they are on the road. But what is personal injury protection? PIP, for short, is mandated by the state of Florida for all drivers to carry. PIP pays for injuries arising from an auto accident, regardless of who was at fault.
PIP was enacted by the Florida legislature in the early 1970’s to ensure that all Floridians have access to medical care after an accident. While the law is updated in one way or another just about every year, the concept has remained the same for some fifty years, and it’s not likely to go away anytime soon.
What Is Covered by Florida PIP?
Florida PIP covers medical costs, lost wages, and death benefits, just like New Jersey and Michigan, but if you are in an auto accident, regardless of who was at fault, your PIP pays for your first $10,000 in medical bills. This is known as PIP benefit.
When Is Someone Covered Under PIP?
PIP insurance covers the owner of a car involved in a collision, and also provides coverage in the following situations:
- Your children are covered if they’re riding in your car or on their school bus.
- Giving a lift to someone who doesn’t own a car.
- If a bicyclist or pedestrian is injured and doesn’t have their own PIP policy (and doesn’t live with a relative who has a PIP policy).
As you can see, PIP is not just another premium to pay, as you can receive $10,000 or more for injuries regardless of whether you’re at fault for the collision, it can help many accident victims.
How Would I Claim PIP Benefit?
To claim a PIP benefit, you must have had treatment within 14 days of the accident, either from a hospital, urgent care clinic, primary care provider, chiropractor, or from emergency medical technicians at the scene of the crash. Learn more about how to claim your PIP benefit here.
More Frequently Asked Questions About PIP
Learn More From Our Articles and Blog
The Florida Senate is again considering a bill that will eliminate PIP in Florida. No one knows whether that would increase or decrease car insurance premiums.
Drivers are entitled to the PIP benefit they elect to purchase, but the state minimum is $10,000. This benefit can cover many auto accident related expenses.
Many folks want to know: How do I make a claim for my personal injury protection (PIP) benefits in Florida after an auto accident?
In Florida, all drivers are required to have PIP insurance, or personal injury protection. But why? And what’s it good for anyway?
South Florida is a wonderful place to live. However, we are not without our…
Were you at fault in a car accident that happened in Palm Beach County?…