Scroll to top

How Do I Claim My Personal Injury Protection Benefits?

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is required in the state of Florida, and all drivers must carry this insurance coverage. We are often asked: How do I claim my personal injury protection benefits? And what exactly are my PIP benefits? We answer these questions and more below!

Drivers in Florida Are Required to Have Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP insurance is necessary in Florida, and it covers $10,000 of qualifying medical costs (or more if you choose a greater level of coverage) associated with motor vehicle accidents. Drivers cannot choose to carry PIP; every registered vehicle in Florida must have PIP. Your children and any non-drivers injured in an accident are also covered by the insurance that’s in place for that vehicle.

What is Covered by PIP?

A successful PIP claim will cover medical bills and lost wages caused by the accident. Coverage isn’t linked to fault, so you’ll be covered no matter who was at fault for the accident.

There’s a range of different costs that might be covered by your PIP insurance. That includes medical services, medication, surgery and other hospital costs, ambulance services, rehabilitation and diagnostics. In the event of death, things such as funeral costs will be covered by PIP. And 60% of lost wages up to $10,000 are covered, as well as the cost of completing tasks around the home that can’t be completed as a result of your injuries.

Claiming PIP Benefits

In order to claim PIP benefits, the treatment you received for the injuries sustained in the crashed must have happened within 14 days of the crash itself. When making a claim, it’s important to understand the coverage is capped at $2,500 for medical attention considered non-emergency.

561-697-4440

Call us now for a Free Case Evaluation

More Frequently Asked Questions About PIP

Learn More From Our Articles and Blog

How Much in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Benefits Are Drivers Entitled To?

Drivers are entitled to the PIP benefit they elect to purchase, but the state minimum is $10,000. This benefit can cover many auto accident related expenses.

How Do I Claim My Personal Injury Protection Benefits?

Many folks want to know: How do I make a claim for my personal injury protection (PIP) benefits in Florida after an auto accident?

What Is Personal Injury Protection, And Why Do Floridians Need It?

In Florida, all drivers are required to have PIP insurance, or personal injury protection. But why? And what’s it good for anyway?

Why All of Our Clients Should be Concerned About PIP Fraud

South Florida is a wonderful place to live. However, we are not without our…

How PIP insurance protect drivers under Florida's no-fault laws

Were you at fault in a car accident that happened in Palm Beach County?…

PIP Rates Increase, Despite Reform

Could you be affected by the PIP rate increases in 2013? That will be…

Related posts